Motivation 2010 – The Refrigerator Let’s Organize Together

The next stop on our journey together, THE FRIDGE.

  • Do you have a piece of fruit in depths of your fridge that is older than your first-born child?  If so, this is the post for you. 
  • When you need to find that jar of capers, do you need to spend ½ searching?  If so, this is the post for you.
  • Have your leftovers taken on a life of their own and morphed into a science project?  If so, this is the post for you.

The first three important lessons when organizing your fridge are;

  1.  Don’t overbuy
  2. Will you really use it?
  3. Pre-plan your shopping trips and make lists

This is the area where I need the most work and I took a big step this year by not renewing my membership to BJ’s, (like Sam’s club).  There are four people in my family and I had no business shopping at a megastore.  I was actually very cautious and went infrequently, but items did go to waste and I purchased some things I didn’t need.  Lesson learned.  Planning and making lists is another area where I need some work.  I get busy and shopping becomes something I need to do on the fly.  This will be my next hurdle and something I hope to get better at this year.  

Now that you’ve reigned in your purchases, let’s look at organizing your fridge.  Create a home for everything in your fridge and don’t be afraid to use containers and other items to assist your organizing efforts.  Here are some examples;

Lazy Susans are fantastic helpers in the fridge and I urge you to give it a try.  It can more than double your space and will give you easy access to jars, condiments etc…

Check out the fantastic helpers that I found for salad dressings, yogurt and other items.  Group items in categories and use little containers to make finding things easier.  Use small Tupperware in the drawers to separate and control clutter.

There is this little space in my fridge under the “meat keeper” that went  unused because the height was impossible.  I purchased a little pull out drawer and the space became easy to access.

Create zones in your fridge door so that like items are together.

Have a space just for your leftovers so that you can easily weed through them and clean out. 

Are you motivated to start on your fridge?  Let’s go!

One response to “Motivation 2010 – The Refrigerator Let’s Organize Together

  1. HI Kristin, I found you through the blogging e-class. You have some great tips here. I have dreamt of being organized for as long as I can remember. I LOVE the Lazy Susan idea for the fridge.

Leave a Reply

