Perfectly Savvy Finds

Hi Everyone,

This week my Savvy Finds are a little different from what I’ve done in the past.  I’m sharing some of my favorite books for inspiration and zen time.  I like to pull out these books when I need a little organization inspiration or if I need to focus on solving an organizing problem.  If you feel like you are stuck in a rut, or just need a new idea for something that’s not working, these books could help out.

First on my list is Libby Langdon’s Small Space Solutions.  The book is full of tips to help smaller spaces feel more spacious.  It has straight forward design advice for people like me that don’t have the decorating gene.  The pictures alone can inspire some wonderful ideas for a variety of spaces.

Next up  – The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin.  While I have trouble sitting to read the book straight through, I have found it incredibly valuable in short bursts for inspiring me to work at staying positive.  There are some wonderful suggestions/projects that make it easy to feel like you are being proactive in creating a happy home and work life.

Unclutter Your Life in One Week by Erin Doland has some practical advice for getting organized.  When you read it, I guarantee you’ll say “Oh, that makes total sense” about 50 times.  I find it useful to give me a little jump-start when I dread starting a new project.

Organizing for the Creative Person by Dorothy Lehmkuhl has some great tools and techniques for the “right-brained” creative types.  This book has wonderful ideas for news ways to approach organization and how to tackle a problem.

My new favorite is Randy Florke’s Restore, Recycle, Repurpose. The photos are brilliant and ideas are abundant.  In fact, I got the book last week and it inspired me to do a project over the weekend.  His chapter on the home office gave me the inspiration I needed to “Restore, Recycle, Repurpose” a small dining table from my husband’s grandmother.  It was in our basement and I couldn’t picture what to do with it.  Thanks to Randy’s book it has a new home in my office and I love it.

I hope one of my favorite reads will inspire you as well.

Have a wonderful weekend.

Kristin

Inspiring reads

Leave a Reply

